My Pet Battle Journey

I know you all think it’s Pokémon and I know you all think I’m acting like I’m 12 years old, but it’s so addictive!

Mr B thinks I’m crazy (I nod and smile!!) but I’ve recently been spending lots of time levelling up a rare quality of every pet family so I can zip through the achievements for battling.

Starting Out

Aviary Photo_130103289513230454

I originally started levelling an Oxynian Whelpling, Clockwork Gnome and a Spider. I always default back to this team for several reasons:

  1. I find the self-heals on the Whelpling and Spider very useful, especially if I make a mistake and need to get myself out of trouble
  2. The fact that I mostly battle critters and beats (which the Gnome and Spider excel at) whilst levelling
  3. The Oxynian Whelpling and Gnome have a lovely ability each which deals a ‘get me out of trouble’ move: Lift-Off and Blitz respectively.

I recommend you pick a team of different types for obvious reasons. I also think the rarer the better – all of mine are rare quality, but you certainly won’t be too held back by using greens for your starter team.

Levelling

I laboriously levelled these all to 25 by – after following advice from a friend – going to a zone 3 or 4 levels above their current level. This gives lovely ‘Difficulty xp’ which makes it that much quicker to level up. Especially in your first team where you can’t use other high level pets to power level. If you hover above the zone on your map, it will show you the level for pet battling underneath. Red means difficult, green means easy etc. as a general guide.

Quests

After I had the 3 at level 25, I started on the quests to defeat each of the tamers in each continent. This has obvious bonuses: namely the loot bag at the end with pet bandages and battle stones, but also the achievement points.

Initially, I struggled on some in Outland and Northrend, so it was there that I decided to level a couple more pets of different types to help me out:

  • Water Waveling which is strong against Mechanical and Elemental
  • Bandicoon / Masked Tanuki have Powerball which is useful (I was stuck on Okrut Dragonwaste in Dragonblight so I levelled two of these which defeated him easily)
  • Nether Faerie Dragon: one of my favourites, useful in so many situations with Moonfire and Life Exchange!

WoWScrnShot_032313_232819

Once I had completed all but the Pandaria tamer achievements, I decided that to give myself the best advantage (and a bit more practice!), I would level one of each family to 25. I ended up with this:

Humanoid: Corefire Imp

Dragonkin: Nether Faerie Dragon / Oxynian Whelpling

Flying: Effervescent Glowfly

Undead: Scourged Whelpling (only level 21 green at the moment)

Critter: Bandicoon / Masked Tanuki

Magic: Nordrassil Wisp (level 21)

Elemental: Water Waveling / Electrified Razortooth (level 24 – I LOVE this pet, looks so cute and has some great attacks)

Beast: Ash Spiderling / Elder Python (I got the snake for the burrow and poisons)

Aquatic: Dancing Water Skimmer (I rarely use this one though – the Waveling has aquatic and elemental attacks – 2 in 1!)

Mechanical: Clockwork Gnome

Power Levelling

Once I had two pets at 25, levelling the rest were easy. I picked a spot near a stable master with plenty of things to battle – either Halfhill or the Shrine. I put the low level pet in the first slot and hit the challenger once before swapping it out. I then defeat the opposing team with my remaining two (usually Spider and a dragonkin of some kind) and enjoy the difficulty bonus of about 500xp. I swap out pets if they get too low in health, then use the Revive Pet button when I have none left or if that is on cooldown, fly to the nearby stable master. Rinse and repeat. 4 battles per level, 4-5 mins per battle… you do the maths.

There are quicker ways to do this (the master tamer dailies for example, which give 1000’s of xp), but I level my pets whilst queuing in LFR and find flying to find the tamers rather tedious. Just my personal preference 🙂

Next Steps

I farmed a Lofty Libram today which I have wanted for a long time as it looks so cool:

Aviary Photo_130104057656732244

Unfortunately, after a lot of farming I had only got one of poor quality. I either need to go back (which I don’t particularly fancy), or use a battle stone. I think I’ll go and do some dailies…!

I am now working my way up to the Pandaren Spirit Tamers – I need a couple of specific pets at 25 before I attempt them, so wish me luck!

Other Information

There is a wealth of info out there for the enthusiast, as I’m sure you know. However, this blog: http://tamerliopleurodon.wordpress.com/ by a lovely person on twitter (@Liopleurodonic) is a great source of information for all things pet-battle. He provides some great insight to the fights and technicalities which are well worth a read. Go, check it out!

3 thoughts on “My Pet Battle Journey

  1. Yepp, it can be quite addictive. I had a period a while back where all my gaming time was spent on pet battles, more or less.

    Good luck with the pandaren spirit tamers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

