Warcraft Worries

It has been a week since Blizzard announced that subscriptions were down and the news gave Twitter something to natter about for days. We felt it was important to give our – albeit, short – response to this news.

Neither of us was entirely surprised, what with our own friends leaving the game; the top few reasons being:

  1. It has a monthly subscription
  2. Boredom
  3. Haven’t got time due to IRL commitments

Let’s address these one at a time.

1. It has a monthly subscription – this seems to be a big issue for younger players particularly, or those of us who pay for two accounts each month. If you’re funding Warcraft out of your paperound, it’s a big dent in your finances when you have important things like beer to buy and theme park outings to attend.

For us, paying £17.98/month doesn’t seem that huge a price for our hobby (considering a gym subscription or a monthly pass to the cinema totals just as much). It boils down to the value for money that you get from your £8.99 monthly subscription. The ultimate question I suppose… what is value for money?

2. Boredom – the big one. We all have had the times when we burn out, either from too much play at once, or a long period of play during one (or more) expansions. Mr B has constant off/on periods – the longest being a few months in the middle of Cata, but he always seems to come crawling back. We also have lots of friends who tried MoP, did the hideous grind to 90, then quit. More focus on dailies for gear and the traditional grinds seem to be the main gripe, but also having explored all they wish to within the game.

Before, I would have scoffed at having ‘nothing to do’, as I feel there is a lot to discover within the game. However, recently it has become extremely difficult to motivate myself to valour cap/run dailies/gear up. We can both sympathise.

3. Not having time – this can be as much of an issue as you make it, I think. For example, if your personal goals are to cap valour on 4 characters and raid, then this requires a huge chunk of time to dedicate to the game. For us more casual players, perhaps it is harder to find the time to do the stuff we want and achieve our Warcraft goals. Even us non-raiders want to valour cap!worrySo, what say we?

Personally, we think the value for money is very good – we enjoy the game and we get our money’s worth each month. The GMs seem to handle issues effectively and the game doesn’t seem to have issues which affect our game play. Although recently Mr B has been dabbling in Neverwinter, and I have been complaining of ‘boredom’, that seems to be a lull due to not having any personal goals. By levelling an alt and working towards a specific achievement, it seems to have rectified the problem – for now.

Can we say we’ll be here forever? Probably not. Our real life commitments are bound to increase and the content of the game is bound to become more monotonous (even if Blizzard release content quicker). I’m not totally convinced that worrying about capping valour or getting all my characters an ilvl of 500+ is a worthwhile way to spend my weekend, but for the time being, I’m happy to go with the flow.

Perhaps what a lot of us forget is that this is just a game. We can have a ‘real life’ and a ‘warcraft life’, without them compromising each other. We shouldn’t put pressure on ourselves to play – or not. We shouldn’t worry about raiding Wednesday night – or not. Whether that means throwing all to the wind and camping for Loque’nahnak whilst watching The Big Bang Theory, or grinding Ghost Iron Ore to make some cash whilst listening to our favourite podcast…

The Queue said in an article today that if the Warcraft community was a real nation, it would be the 91st largest country in the world. We’re sad Warcraft lost those million or so people, but we have faith that it’s not going to die a death just yet, and we’re going to enjoy every minute!

7 thoughts on “Warcraft Worries

  1. I definitely agree with you guys about the subscription fee, that’s exactly what I say to everyone I hear complaining about it. Usually I use the example of going to a movie these days, which runs like $9-12 these days! That’s just for one night. But a typical MMO subscription is $14.99 for 30 whole days of playing however long you want with no limits!

    Also with you about the lack of personal goals on the game being a cause of a little boredom… although for me it’s also because pretty much everyone I used to play with has stopped playing and I haven’t made any more friends in-game in a while (and my server is very low pop). Le sigh.

    But yes, bottom line is that it’s still just a game! It will be interesting to see what WoW comes up with over the next year or so. I feel like it will need a really big insane change to keep its players interested…

  2. Really good read. I totally agree. I went through a long period of time where I just wasn’t having fun but then also logged in out of habit I guess. I think it was down to not having a good guild. I bounced around for a while until finally I found one recently.

    They think the same as I do and we have a blast. We don’t take the game seriously. We take it how it is meant to be, as you said, a game. Loving it at the moment but if it ever got back to the point I was before I would consider a break again.

    Bottom line is my friends make WoW what it is. That and this expansion is by far the best (may hurt some TBC fans since I played since then!)

  3. I enjoyed the game back in WotLK, but I am really really enjoying MoP. I took a break from the game in the middle of the Firelands tier as I was burnt out… bored… pretty much the things you mentioned above. But returned for the MoP release, server transferred to a more populated Horde realm and its like playing the game for the first time again – it has that “epicness” back. Heck I don’t even mind waiting in server queues just to get online!

    I completely agree with the subscription costs. I don’t go out shopping, drinking, going to the cinema every week, which probably costs more than £8.99 a month! I think I used to pay about £5 for one hour dance lessons and that was 3 times a week when I was younger, so I think WoW is actually a cheap hobby!

  4. I think as a hobby, WoW isn’t the healthiest or most productive, but then again, neither is binge drinking so I think we can argue for it 😀

    /highfive for MoP!!

  5. Great post – I’m with you 100%. I have friends who think I’m weird for paying £8.99 a month but I say to them that’s 2 (3 max) pints at the pub which a lot of people ‘afford’ on a weekly basis! It really is good value for money – for me atleast.
    I think everyone gets bored every now and then but this extends to all hobbies. I too find that setting myself personal goals really helps to motivate me through such times. Plus, at £8.99 a month I don’t feel like I have to play all day, every day and I’d always consider taking a mini break from the game.
    As for having time – I’ve recently found this to be quite an issue for me. But I play as much as I can (and want to) and as I said above I feel like I’m playing enough to justify the £8.99 a month 🙂

Leave a Reply

