The Triumphant Return!

So, we did it, we re-subscribed to Warcraft. We were both missing it and it seemed like a good time now I am on holiday for the summer.

It’s funny though, as soon as I logged in, I went afk for a bit, chatted for a bit, then flew around aimlessly for a bit. It was only after a couple of days after re-subbing that I decided I needed some goals. So, I picked up right where I left off – working for my 60 reps, grinding for the few mounts I need and working on any achievements that take my fancy. Mr B is busy working on more alts, and gearing more alts for pvp. Each to their own I suppose………………….

Things feel different this time though. Perhaps we have wised up a bit and got a better attitude, or perhaps it was a clean break which made us appreciate the game. Probably a mixture of the two, but this is definitely a question of balance. For us and our lifestyle, playing multiple hours a day and prioritising dailies/gear/guild over ‘real life’, and dare I say… each other?… wasn’t healthy. This time around, logging in for an hour, doing something fun and logging out to enjoy the rest of our day away from a screen feels much better.

Anyway, I have a post lined up in the next couple of days about what we’ve been upto in more detail, so ciao for now!

2 thoughts on “The Triumphant Return!

  1. We often take breaks from WoW. With the current expansion stagnating where it is and the current state of world PvP (our favorite thing) being so lousy unless you’re a raider (our least favorite), we’re drifting away now.
    Wild Star has really pulled us away as well: the world is new, the play is fun, the NPCs in the world can be more challenging than some of the bosses in dungeon encounters in Wow, the professions are fun and there’s player housing that allows for people to visit one another. From all that I’m seeing about WoW and the upcoming expansion (which I will be SHOCKED if it comes out before 2015), it just doesn’t have it anymore. They keep recycling old ideas, they seem to be wandering around in circles repeating the same mistakes they made in vanilla to deal with mistakes they made in subsequent expansions.
    I’m not hopeful for improvement, but we’ll see what happens.
    I’m glad you’re having fun being back in the game, but I expect that unless something totally different or amazing happens soon, WoW will continue to lose players just to boredom.

    • Wildstar really isn’t our thing, we weren’t impressed at all. We made a couple of posts – you can see them by selecting the tag on the right hand side.

      I agree though, people will unsub from boredom, but I think most are quite loyal and will come back with the new expac. I’m still maintaining hope it’ll be out around Blizzcon :)

      That being said, we are really excited about the expac and must admit, we aren’t in the same camp as you – we think there are loads of good ideas and can’t wait to see garrisons,, stat squish, toybox etc etc :)

Leave a Reply

