Couples Who Slay Together – Karen & Sean

Welcome to our Community Project of 2017 (you can see our last one in 2014 here)!

We propose to do a series of – fun and lightearted – interviews which help us learn a bit more about our awesome community, and hopefully unravel some juicy details about our readers. 

If you would like to get involved, contact us.

Thanks for doing our interview! Can you introduce yourselves?

Hi! We are Karen and Sean, from Ashburnham, VA. Our American geography is terrible, I had to Google.  Apparently VA is Virginia and this is on the East coast. /nod, let’s continue.

Here are our original characters, Allie and Grave. We created them in Vanilla WoW. 

Do you still play the original characters?!

My Rogue is still my main. Hubs still plays his Warlock, but his Druid is now his main (Tauren).

Thats awesome! How long have you been together and where did you meet?

We met at a comic book shop (if you want the whole story, it’s here). We dated for a couple of years and were married in 1996.

Show us a picture of your setup – do you have a cute couple thing going on, all cosy?

We SO don’t. I podcast and work from home, and I’d go positively insane if we were near each other. I’m in our bedroom and he’s just off the dining area.  That’s ALL THE WAY across the apartment. Ha! Sounds perfect to me! 😂




So, do you tend to play the same games together, or prefer to keep gaming life separate?

Both. Although we haven’t done much gaming together lately. He’s into Overwatch and I play more WoW. We play together when we can.

With the current political situation, it’s only right we ask your affiliation: HORDE OR ALLIANCE?

We have characters on both sides, however were Horde to the core baby! LOK’TAR OGAR! *ahem* I mean, we like everyone equally.

Spill the beans: what’s the most fun activity you like to do together? GAMING ACTIVITY… naughty! 

We love doing holiday stuff together.  Like fighting all the Horde fires and extinguishing the Alliance ones *snicker*

As a couple, do you find sharing your gaming hobby helps your relationship? 

YES! We both understand the need for that tension release we get from gaming.  We’ve had our little toffs over time spent, or decibel levels, but otherwise, we just “get” each other because of our shared interests.

*ahem* who rides who on the two seater mount?

LOL! We share that responsibility *wink*

(For clarification sake: we both have two seater mounts, ground and air). LOL

Who is the raid leader in your relationship?! 

We’ve gone back and forth, but because of some health issues, it’s now defaulted to Sean. A few years ago, I was diagnosed with MS. Sorry to hear this, my lovely, we hope you’re not in too much pain! He’s had to take on more responsibilities overall because of it. It’s not a natural thing since we used to be equal partners, but we’re getting used to it.

What’s been the biggest, how can I put this delicately? Bust up? Whilst gaming together?

Me getting uptight over his DECIBEL LEVELS whilst playing Overwatch. Usually when I’m trying to record a podcast /sigh. Bloody men. They say women talk too much 😉

He would say he gets impatient with me when we level together. And not the way you would think. I POWER level and he hates having to keep up, so he gets frustrated. Sean likes to take his time. I do that the first time through, and maybe even the second, but after five or six alts?  Hell no, I’m ripping through that content ASAP.

One of you has to kill 100 kobolds and one has to collect 100 shiny beads they drop… who does which task and why?

Depends on the characters we’re playing. We’re both altoholics, so we team up accordingly. If we are on our mains, he’d do the AOE (Warlock) and I’d do the drops (Rogue). I’d go round pickpocketing first though. 

Where do you see your future in gaming?

We’re not exactly young’uns. We both lived through the 1970s (do your math on that one) and we’re still going strong. My mother, who is in her 80s, still plays video games, although they’re mostly puzzle-type things. I can see us both gaming well into the future.

Ok, the million pound question.  You’re farming a rare mount. Neither of you has it. It drops. Who gets it?!

Believe it or not, Sean usually let’s me have it. N’awwww! It’s a situation  we’ve actually been in, and I can attest to the fact. I collect them (and other vanity items), so he knows they mean something to me. He’s also purchased pets attested mounts from the Blizz store for me on occasion. No million pounds required. 

Twitter/Blog info:

Karen: @Aleveria and the blog

Sean: @NegativeBurrn

Thanks so much for letting us into your couple gaming lives, Karen and Sean! I wish Blizz would get their acts together and let us group with our friends across the sea 😦 

One thought on “Couples Who Slay Together – Karen & Sean

  1. Nice to meet you, Karen and Sean 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Holiday stuff in WoW is just so great to do together, I agree.

    Im so sorry to hear youve been diagnosed with MS. That is not easy, I know.

    Hah, I like the way your gaming/working set up is, cool that you agree on space! 🙂

    Thanks Mrs WoW for googling their location btw :p I didnt know either. I like your questions and reactions in between, seems so alive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

