Couples Who Slay Together – Ursapad & Starfaith

Welcome to our Community Project of 2017 (you can see our last one in 2014 here)!

We propose to do a series of – fun and lightearted – interviews which help us learn a bit more about our awesome community, and hopefully unravel some juicy details about our readers. 

If you would like to get involved, contact us

Thanks for doing our little interview! Can you introduce yourselves? (U) Sure I’m Ursapad and my Lady (wife) is Starfaith. This is one of the most beautiful toon names ever!

We mostly play on the Uldaman server and are guild members of Pirates Inc. We have been playing since Wrath, and spend most of the time exploring the world and seeing the content rather than dungeons and raids.

(S) I bought a WoW trial disk at 7/11 (dear readers in the UK who have, like myself, never heard of this… Mr B informs me that this is like a corner shop. You’re welcome, let’s continue!) years ago on a whim (had been seeing the commercials for Wrath) and thought why not give it a try. Still playing almost every day all these years later! I’m the current GM for Pirates, Inc.

Could you share a pic of you together – either IRL or in game, we don’t mind! 
 

Starfaith and Ursapad in the Beer garden /chinchin

How long have you been together and where did you meet? 

(U) We met in San Diego where I was in the Navy and Starfaith was living with her brother whom I was stationed with. He invited me to a group to play D&D. We have been playing ever since. 38 years this coming September. This is AMAZING.

(S) I thought he was so handsome, and such a smart ass when I first met him! I was really into D&D and strategy games back then, and finally, a cute guy who liked them too!

Show us a picture of your setup – do you have a cute couple thing going on, all cozy?

Starfaith has the desk and I use the laptop.

So, do you tend to play the same games together or prefer to keep gaming life separate? 

(U) We play separate games a lot, but WoW (and Diablo III) we play together, it’s fun playing with each other as opposed to playing against each other.

(S) I have several alts I play during the day so I’m around for any guildies that may need help, but I keep most of Starfaith’s playing time for Ursapad.

With the current political situation it’s only right we ask your affiliation: HORDE OR ALLIANCE? 
(U) Alliance all the way, we do have horde but mostly just to see the horde side of the story. YES!!! FOR THE ALLIANCE MY FRIENDS

(S) I do love my Tauren monk Moomaiden, but don’t enjoy parts of the horde storyline.

Spill the beans: what’s the most fun activity you like to do together? GAMING ACTIVITY… naughty! 😉 
(U) We like getting pets and mounts. 

(S) And solving puzzles.

As a couple, do you find sharing your gaming hobby helps your relationship? 
(U) Yeah, we get most of our aggravation out in game and not at each other.

(S) It also gives us something to talk about when we need a break from RL.

*ahem* who rides who on the two seater mount? 
(U) Depends who open the mount first.

(S) I usually ask Ursapad to because he can be such a backseat driver 😉

Who is the raid leader in your relationship?! 
(U) Easy, we don’t raid. When we do go into a raid we tend to do it as very OP 5 to 10 levels higher than the raid and solo (duo) it for the mounts or pets.

(S) I’ll usually come up with a “cunning plan” to get a pet, or mount, or work on an achievement.

Do you not raid because of time commitments?

(U) No, we have raided at times, but it’s too stressful for us. 

Do you feel like you missed out not raiding? 

(U) Not at all!

What’s been the biggest, how can I say this… marital dispute… whilst gaming together? 
(U) As in real life, directions. She can’t make them and I can’t take them.

(S) This is true!

One of you has to kill 100 kobolds and one has to collect the 100 shiny beads they drop… who does which task and why? 
(U) She will probably take them out and I do the clean-up, we’re both hunters and I do most of the skinning.

(S) I do enjoy seeing how many things my pets and I can take out at once. 

Where do you see your future in gaming? 
(U) Going through and seeing all the Legion content two expansions from now.

(S) Giving VR a try, continuing on with WoW, giving new Blizzard games a try when they come out.

Ok, the million pound question. You’re farming a rare mount. Neither of you has it. It drops. Who gets it?!! 
(U) I let the wife take it. I did buy her the Grand Expedition Yak for her birthday. 

(S) It is soooo cute! The way I look at it – whoever had the idea to go after it should have it. 
Thanks so much for doing our little interview, it’s been great getting to know you both. Find Ursapad on twitter here

3 thoughts on “Couples Who Slay Together – Ursapad & Starfaith

Leave a Reply

