Couples Who Slay Together – Philip & Lisa

Welcome to our Community Project of 2017 (you can see our last one in 2014 here)!

We propose to do a series of – fun and lightearted – interviews which help us learn a bit more about our awesome community, and hopefully unravel some juicy details about our readers. 

If you would like to get involved, contact us.

Thanks for doing our little interview! Can you introduce yourselves?

P: My name is Philip and I’ve (in some type of form) been playing games ever since I can remember. My affection for Blizzard games goes back to Warcraft 1 that I played with my dad – and since it’s been the main gaming franchise I use.

L: My name is Lisa and I haven’t played games “all my life”. Before I met Philip I only played Sims 3: Pets and then we got to Pandaria together and that’s what caught me. 

We’re both Swedish! I wanted to make an Ikea joke, but Mr B says that would be childish in a serious interview like this, so I’ll continue… 😉 

Could you share a pic of you together – either IRL or in game, we don’t mind! 

How long have you been together and where did you meet?

We met when we were 17. We were at the same school and eventually ended up in the same class. High school sweethearts, that’s lovely! We weren’t that active in playing games (either of us) for the first year or two but we tried many online/co-op games which led us to what we like to play today – games that we can play together (couch games?).
Show us a picture of your setup?

Lisa, you have a beautiful space, very relaxing!

So, do you tend to play the same games together or prefer to keep gaming life separate?

At first we played every game together – now we’ve realized that our tastes in games are different but mostly we still play together. If it’s online – we play it with the both of us!

With the current political situation it’s only right we ask your affiliation: HORDE OR ALLIANCE?

Well that’s a tough question… Our absolute first characters together were Worgen.. We didn’t really get that far; level 25 or so. Then our mutual friend kinda pulled us to Horde and we became a gaming trio in WoW! However recently, we decided to give Alliance another go and here we are. FOR THE ALLIANCE!

Spill the beans: what’s the most fun activity you like to do together? GAMING ACTIVITY… naughty! 

Honestly the most fun activities we’ve done together have probably been with whatever guild we were in. We have a history from other games to hold large guild activites and it has kinda carried over to WoW. We also like transmog runs! Ooh shinies! But honestly, just multiplayer games where co-operation is required: Minecraft, Gears of Wars, Halo, Little Big Planet etc. Whatever we can work together in is the SHIZZ!

As a couple, do you find sharing your gaming hobby helps your relationship?

Absolutely! Because it’s a big passion for the both of us we find it easier to communicate with each other since we have similar hobbies (usually). We also have mutual online friends which like the same things the both of us enjoy. Co-op games have made us work together overall.

*ahem* who rides who on the two seater mount?

P: I mean… Let’s get something straight here. If there’s an achievement that is required for flying, I have it way before Lisa does, and usually our mutual friends. Meaning I’m the taxi that never gets paid… It’s just how it is.

L: I have bad memorization of map layouts and I’m just kinda too lazy. I have the 2 seater mount but… I barely ever use it.

Who is the raid leader in your relationship?! 

P: I mean I guess I am? I might not always put the groups together or so but – if there’s a raid and a boss to kill I’m usually the one explaining what to do or going in “I’m in CHARRGEEE now!”

L: I like to get told what to do: “Don’t stand in that – don’t do that – do that!” he’s like my personal DBM! Sounds like a great thing to have 😀

What’s been the biggest, how can I say this… marital dispute… whilst gaming together?

P: I mean… We had a time where I had a Minecraft server we built a bunch of stuff on. I gave her admin for ONE second and guess what? Fudging squids and TNT everywhere in my castle! Outrageous!

L: I don’t think we’ve necessarily ever had a big problem together whilst gaming. Mhm.. I don’t think so.
One of you has to kill 100 kobolds and one has to collect the 100 shiny beads they drop… who does which task and why?

P: Honestly I think Lisa is the one who would collect the beads. I would probably try to be as effective as possible in killing them candle grabbing bonkers whilst Lisa is running after me trying to fit all those beads in her hands!

L: What he said.. I like picking up things. Ooh shinies! Me take candle!

Where do you see your future in gaming?

P: Uhm overall I think the amount we play now is probably the biggest we ever will. We’re in our mid twenties, I’m soon done with studies meaning my freetime will expire when I’m done. Then it’ll mostly be work, the occasional gaming period and spend my time doing other things!

L: Uhm – I’m about to start studying for 4 years. I’ll probably have a lot of freetime where I can play but after that.. We’ve been together for a lot of years now and we’re soon in that phase where we want a family which will leave little time to play around. It will probably always be a big part of us and probably for our kids. Probably a lot less multiple games and maybe just focus on one when that time comes.

Ok, the million pound question. You’re farming a rare mount. Neither of you has it. It drops. Who gets it?!!

P: Honestly.. I’d probably say her. I’ve never been a mount fan. I have my Yak with merchants and my 2-seater. I’m more of a toy collector! GET. ALL. DEM. SHINY. TRANSFORMATIONS!

L: Depends on how much the other person wants it. If it’s a rare mount he wants, that I don’t want – he’ll get it. But if we both want it we will roll! I can’t think of any mounts that I want though, I have my favorites for now!

Thank you both so much for taking part, it sounds like you have a great gaming relationship! 

Check out Lisa on twitter here

2 thoughts on “Couples Who Slay Together – Philip & Lisa

  1. Hey Philip & Lisa, you look lovely, in game and in real life 😉

    Thank you for telling us about yourself! A personal DBM, that would be a great thing for many in game. 🙂

    Rofl, Mrs. WoW “I wanted to make an Ikea joke, but Mr B says that would be childish in a serious interview like this, so I’ll continue…” – that was hilarious 😀

Leave a Reply

